Happy Cinco De Mayo!

Happy Sunday!

I have not done much on this day of Cinco De Mayo. I have been at home recovering after my fun filled and eventful day yesterday at my Graduation. I promise a full recap coming soon. I just have a few more pictures I’m working on before then. Just know, the day was everything I imagined it would be and more!

And now, I am spending my first day as a Master of Arts graduate in the only way it could be spent.

20130505-175424.jpg

The hubby had to go into work  this morning at 6 a.m., so I had the morning to myself for awhile. Not to mention it was a rainy, dreary day and I had no plans of going out. I made one of my favorite breakfasts, Strawberry Shortcake Waffles with a TON of syrup.

20130505-175518.jpg

It’s quite simple. I  sliced four HUGE strawberries and put about 3/4 of them in a small, microwaveable container. I then poured approximately 1/3 c. (give or take 😉 ) of sugar-free syrup over the strawberries and popped them in the microwave for one minute. After my waffles toasted (I used Van’s Whole Wheat), I smeared them with plain greek yogurt. I placed the remainder of the sliced strawberries on the waffles, and then topped the whole thing with the syrup-strawberry mixture. SO. GOOD.

The rest of my day was filled with more blog reading and Food Network until the hubby got home. And then we celebrated in true Cinco De Mayo fashion with a Taco Bowl.

20130505-175442.jpg

We used the Perfect Taco Bowl pans to make these, but you can do the same thing with the bottom of a muffin pan. In the bowl: ground chicken made with taco seasoning, green leaf lettuce, quinoa, black beans, diced tomato, onion, cheese and salsa all topped with a dollop of plain greek yogurt. We used low-carb, hi fiber tortillas.

While we ate dinner, we finished the evening watching Skyfall for the first time.

Would you believe this was the first James Bond movie I have ever seen? The hubby thinks it’s crazy I haven’t seen any until now. I really liked it!

For dessert, we had these  Apple Raisin Bran Muffins. Recipe coming soon!

20130505-175457.jpg

Hope you all have had a great weekend! I guess tomorrow it’s back to the grind.

How did you celebrate Cinco De Mayo?

Leave a Reply

