New Digs and F/X Fitness (AKA Crossfit)

Few things motivate me more to workout than having new digs and swag for my workouts. Almost every year, I end up purchasing cute new outfits, shoes, or gadgets and gizmos. Although I have been running pretty consistently as of late, I have been slacking on the strength and cross training aspects of my routine.

There is a new class at my gym called the F/X that I have been really wanting to try. I am not sure what the acronym stands for, but when I inquired about the class, the instructor compared it to Crossfit. If you read blogs regularly, then undoubtedly you have heard of crossfit and the “following” it has created. My best guess is F/X is the backwards acronym for cross (X) fit (F), since my gym must not be able to use the actual name of for Crossfit.

Anyway, if you’re curious about Crossfit, you should checkout Katelyn’s blog. She is one of the first encounters I have had with Crossfit and seems to be well-schooled in the concept.

Anyway, back to what I was originally here to talk about today. I have been very hesitant to go to the new class, simply because I am unfamiliar and I am usually a solo trainer. I enjoy my me time. So, I thought if I bought some new “crossfit” clothes then I would be more motivated. The class is tomorrow at 6 p.m., so wish me luck!

I bought these items at Wal-Mart. Can you believe it? If you have never looked at their Dri-Fit brand, you really should. SUPER affordable and actually really cute items. In addition to the clothes, I have also been acquiring some other splurges. Some of them fitness, some of them…not so much. And yes, these Iphone pictures suck. #sorryimnotsorry #lazy

20130603-201809.jpg 20130603-201802.jpg

Camelbak Waterbottle – I have had one of these on my wishlist forever. I finally got one while we were on our vacation. I love it!

20130603-201748.jpg

Underarmour running sneaks – My Nike + shoes had definitely done their time, and I have been due for an upgrade! I chose these shoes. I love the color! I’ve already had them on a couple of test runs and they’re great!

20130603-201740.jpg

Cookie Nookie Peanut Butter – Again, an item that has been on my wishlist for awhile now. The Hubby made an Amazon purchase the other day and I put this in the cart as an ‘add on’ item. It is every bit as delicious as I thought it would be. I see this going in oatmeal SOON!

Insoles – After reviewing a Youtube video by Allisonvlogs (love her!) about how important insoles are even in your running shoes, I decided I needed a pair. I am trying these out tonight. Can’t wait to see if they make a difference. And yes the box is empty, I already cut them to size and put them in my shoes. Believe me, after that ordeal I was NOT taking them back out! #Lazy, remember?

20130603-201822.jpg

Coach bag – Okay, I know this is not fitness, or nutrition, and definitely unnecessary. But what can I say? We made a trip to the Coach outlet while on vacay, and I made a beeline for this baby as soon as I saw it in the store! Sidenote: Coach Outlet + Memorial Day Sale = CHAOS. That store was crazy!

That’s all I have for you today!

Does new fitness gear make you feel more motivated?

What’s the best fitness purchase you have made lately? (If you have a link, please share! Maybe it’s something I “need”, too!)

(Disclaimer: As always, I purchased all of these items with my own money and am not being reimbursed or sponsored by these companies in any way. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

One thought on “New Digs and F/X Fitness (AKA Crossfit)

Leave a Reply

