Making Dreams Come True

Hey all!

Guess what? It’s HUMP DAY! Okay, please tell me I’m not the only one who is definitely OVER these commercials.

If you say Hump Day one more time... #humpday

I for one am definitely glad this week is almost over.

 

As for what I have been up to this week, it involves this…

If you’ve been following my blog for a little while now, or read back in the archives, you probably know that I recently graduated with my Master’s in Counseling Psychology. My day job involves working with clients struggling with drug addiction, and while I love what I do, I wouldn’t necessarily say it is my passion.

 

The Applied Sport and Exercise Psychology Certification is actually a specialty division in my field. These professionals work with individuals on a variety of issues from increasing motivation for exercise and fitness to identifying destructive thinking habits which may be inhibiting performance. From the website:

AASP Certified Consultants (CC-AASP) and specially trained licensed psychologists are typically the most competent practitioners working in the field of applied sport and exercise psychology. Although there are many specific concepts within applied sport and exercise psychology (e.g., goal setting, concentration, motivation, relaxation, imagery), the general goal is to teach mental skills necessary to perform consistently in training and competition, increase adherence to exercise programs, and to help individuals realize their potential. (http://www.appliedsportpsych.org/about/about-applied-sport-and-exercise-psychology/ )

This certification would be a perfect way for me to connect two of my favorite passions: fitness/health and psychology. As someone who has experienced first hand the many positive benefits and rewards of living a healthy lifestyle, I would love to be able to help lead others in a similar way. In addition, I have always really admired the idea of having my own practice of sorts, and with this certification I could definitely promote my services as a consulting practice for others.

Do what you Love and you'll never Work a day in your Life...

However, there are a couple of steps I need to complete in order to be qualified. I need about three more classes in the Exercise Psychology category, along with supervision hours, but that’s it! I have already applied for the Licensed Professional Counseling Associate license in my state and am actually beginning my supervision this week (more on that later), so hopefully I can find a way to tie these two things together.

So that’s it for now. It’s getting late and my 4 a.m. workout comes early! I just wanted to check-in with you guys and share my newfound career goal. Here’s to making dreams come true!

 

Have you ever switched careers? What’s your dream job?

2 thoughts on “Making Dreams Come True

Leave a Reply

