A Snowday + The Psychology Behind Music and Running

Hey all,

I guess it’s Monday again… Everybody now, UGH! Okay, so maybe it’s not so bad for me because I’m snowed in – again. All through the night I kept hearing the ice pelting against our roof and I just knew this morning was going to be a crazy mess outside.

IMG_0509

Not to mention, the hubster has had a nasty stomach bug all weekend and has demanded some extra attention today. Although I threatened to keep him quarantined in the bedroom, he finally made it to the couch this morning. Progress!

IMG_0508

With that said, I definitely have remained inside for most of the day, but I thought maybe some of you might be in a warmer climate or at least with less snow and perhaps you’re looking for a bit of motivation to kickoff your week.

If you didn’t already know, there has been a ton of research conducted to show how high energy music can really help you get the most out of your workout. Did you notice during the Winter Olympics how many athletes were listening to their MP3’s before diving into their challenges? Listening to music while exercising or playing a sport has been shown to lead to positive imagery (visualizing yourself succeeding at the activity), reducing thoughts of fatigue, increasing endurance and speed, as well as reducing the sensation of pain.

Here are a couple of articles explaining the benefit of listening to music while exercising.

Runnersworld.com

Active.com

In addition, I found a great article on Psychologytoday.com related to creating a great jogging playlist utilizing the BPM (beats per minute) of a song. If you want to give this a try yourself, consider using a website like jog.fm. On this website, simply enter in the length of time you want your mile to be (such as 9 min. per mile) and the website will calculate and provide a playlist of a variety of songs with matching BPM’s. Pretty cool!

I’ll leave you with a selection of some of my most played songs from my current playlist. Enjoy!

image

Do you have any favorite workout songs to add? Let me know, I’m always looking for more!

Leave a Reply

